Find A Store
Cart
My Cart

{{ product.title }}

{{ product.author }}
{{ product.format }}
Qty:{{ product.quantity }}
${{ product.totalPrice | formatPrice }}
Your cart is empty.


Finding Eadie

Finding Eadie

By Caroline Beechampaperback2 July 2020
$29.99RRP $32.99
or 4 payments of $7.50 with Learn more
Booklovers earn $1.45 in rewards
London 1943: War and dwindling resources are taking their toll on the staff of Partridge Press. The pressure is on to create new books to distract readers from the grim realities of the war, but Partridge's rising star, Alice Cotton, leaves abruptly and cannot be found.

Alice's secret absence is to birth her child and although her baby's father remains unnamed, Alice's mother promises to help her raise her tiny granddaughter, Eadie. Instead, she takes a shocking action.

Theo Bloom is employed by the American office of Partridge. When he is tasked with helping the British publisher overcome their challenges, Theo has his own trials to face before he can return to New York to marry his fiancee.

Inspired by real events during the Second World War, Finding Eadie is a story about the triumph of three friendships bound by hope, love, secrets and the belief that books have the power to change lives.

PRAISE FOR ELEANOR'S SECRET
'Fans of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton will very much enjoy this new release and the dual time zones mean the book will appeal to a broader audience.' Debbishdotcom

PRODUCT DETAILS

  • Title: Finding Eadie
  • Author: Caroline Beecham
  • Publisher: Allen & Unwin
  • ISBN: 9781760529642
  • Length: 234.0 millimetre
  • Width: 153.0 millimetre
  • Languages: English

RATINGS & REVIEW

1/07/2020 5:31:35 PM - Marianne
enjoyable, but not outstanding, historical fiction.
Finding Eadie is the third novel by British-born Australian author, Caroline Beecham. London, late 1942, and assistant editor at Partridge Press, Alice Cotton suddenly and inexplicably abandons her latest exciting project to care for a pregnant cousin in Bristol. In reality, Alice’s deeply religious mother has sent her off to give birth away from prying eyes, promising they will raise the baby together with their cousin cover story. Except that Alice wakes, days after giving birth to Eadie, to find her mother has taken her daughter, and given her away. As an employee of Partridge Press’s New York office, Theo Bloom can’t really refuse to go to London, even when it means leaving his fiancée (the boss’s daughter) and his ailing father. Nor is he sure of the reception he might receive there: an American sent to sort them out, is what they’ll think. Theo has to see whether various problems, including a reduced paper allocation, can be overcome so the London branch will remain viable. When he meets with the staff, their loyalty and dedication is clear, but they seem to be pinning their hopes on an absent staff member, Alice Cotton, whose Women and Children First edition could be promising. But where is this Alice? Then Alice returns, and Theo can immediately see why the team is so enthusiastic about her contribution: her fervour and optimism are infectious. But some of the time, he notes she is quite distracted from her work: there’s something below the surface, something concerning that Alice isn’t sharing. Alice has returned with one purpose in mind: to use her position at Partridge as an entrée into anywhere that can provide information on the baby farmers to whom her daughter has been handed over. Because Alice will do everything in her power to get her child back. She finds Theo interesting and attractive, but really, she hasn’t the time to spend on a man, nor is she ready to trust one after Eadie’s father. Beecham easily captures her setting and the era, and explores two interesting topics: the illicit trade in infants; and the importance of books and publishing during wartime. The Regent’s Park zoo story is delightful and if the plot is a little predictable, it does have an exciting climax. While the characters are appealing, the story is patchy in places and lacks the depth needed to live up to its initial promise, making it enjoyable, but not outstanding, historical fiction. This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by Allen and Unwin.
|

SHIPPING AND RETURNS


 

Delivery options: Shipping to an Australian address

 

Service Price per order
Australia wide
Delivery time1
After dispatch
Saver Delivery (Tracked)
via Australia post

Items in order will be sent as soon as they arrive in the warehouse. Order may come in multiple shipments, however you will only be charged a flat fee.
$7.95 2-10 days after all items have arrived in the warehouse
 Express Delivery2  (Tracked)
via StarTrack Express3

Items in order will be sent via Express post as soon as they arrive in the warehouse. Order may come in multiple shipments, however you will only be charged a flat fee.
$14.95  1-2 days after each item has arrived in the warehouse
 

1 The expected delivery period after the order has been dispatched via your chosen delivery method.
2 Express is not available on all items.
3 Please note this service does not override the status timeframe "Dispatches in", and that the "Usually Dispatches In" timeframe still applies to all orders.

NB All our estimates are based on business days and assume that shipping and delivery don't occur on holidays and weekends.

 

When will my book be dispatched from your warehouse?

Once we receive your order we verify it, complete invoicing and prepare your item(s) before we dispatch them from our Sydney warehouse.

You will notice that each product page on the Web site includes an estimated delivery date range for Saver Delivery, as well as for Express Delivery if it is available for that product.

This Estimated Delivery date range is a combination of:

  • the time to dispatch your order from our warehouse, and
  • the time taken to ship your order to you.

In addition to the estimated delivery date range, on the product page you will find how long an item will take to be dispatched.

  Dispatch time
The time it takes to verify the order, complete invoicing, prepare your item(s) and dispatch.  
Explanation
The dispatch time will depend on the status of your item(s) at our warehouse.  
 
Immediate download

Immediate download

Digital downloads only

Dispatches next business day

Usually dispatches next business day+

In stock at our warehouse.

Dispatches in 4-5 business days

Usually dispatches in 4-5 business days+

Order placed with supplier, estimated arrival time to warehouse is 4-5 business days. 

Dispatches in 5-14 business days

Usually dispatches in 5-14 business days+

Order placed with supplier, estimated arrival time to warehouse is 5-14 business days.


+ All our estimates are based on business days and assume that shipping and delivery don't occur on holidays and weekends.

 

When will my order arrive?

The Estimate Delivery Date is when your order is expected to arrive at your chosen delivery location.

Once you have submitted your order you will receive confirmation and status update emails.

  • If you order multiple items and they are not all in stock, we will advise you of their anticipated arrival times.
  • For items not readily available, we'll provide ongoing estimated ship and delivery time frames.
  • Once your order has been dispatched from our Sydney warehouse you will receive an Order Shipped status email. This will contain your tracking information

All our estimates are based on business days and assume that shipping and delivery don't occur on holidays and weekends.

 

Tracking delivery

Saver Delivery: Australia post

Australia Post deliveries can be tracked on route with eParcel. You can track your delivery by going to AusPost tracking and entering your tracking number - your Order Shipped email will contain this information for each parcel.

  • Delivery with Standard Australia Post usually happens within 2-10 business days from time of dispatch. Please be aware that the delivery time frame may vary according to the area of delivery and due to various reasons, the delivery may take longer than the original estimated timeframe.
  • If you have not received your delivery following the estimated timeframe, we advise you to contact your local post office first, as the parcel may be there awaiting your collection.
  • If you have not received any information after contact with Australia Post, please contact us to confirm that the details for delivery logged with us are correct. We will then contact you with the appropriate action.

Express Delivery via StarTrack Express

You can track your delivery by going to StartTrack tracking using your consignment number. The consignment number is emailed to you along with the invoice at the time of shipment.

  • Please be aware that the delivery time frame may vary according to the area of delivery - the approximate delivery time is usually between 1-2 business days.
  • For enquiries regarding the delivery of your order, contact Star Track Customer Service on 13 23 45 - and quote the above consignment number.
  • If you have not received any information after contact with Star Track, please contact us to confirm that the address for delivery logged with us are correct. We will then contact you with the appropriate action.

International delivery

To track orders sent by DHL, go to DHL tracking

 

International orders

Deliveries to destinations outside Australia are made by DHL courier, and cannot be made to post office boxes. Charges for international delivery destinations are available below. For international deliveries we will hold your order until we can send you all your items at once.

Parcel Weight New Zealand Hong Kong US & Canada United Kingdom
Up to 1kg $30 $35 $40 $45
1.5kgs $35 $45 $50 $60
2kgs $40 $50 $60 $70
2.5kgs $45 $60 $70 $80
3kgs $50 $65 $75 $90
3.5kgs $55 $75 $85 $100
4kgs $60 $80 $95 $105
4.5kgs $65 $85 $100 $115
5kgs $70 $95 $110 $125

 

If your order weighs more than 1.0kg (2.2lb, roughly equivalent to 1 or 2 paperbacks), we'll let you know what your delivery charge will be, and seek your approval before sending your order.

Please note that some countries may charge the recipient duties on the 'import' of parcels from time-to-time. As these charges are the responsibility of the recipient, please check the customs service in your destination country to see if charges are applicable.

To track orders sent by DHL, go to DHL tracking

 

Delivery restrictions

Remote areas: Please note that there may be a surcharge if shipping international orders to a remote area. You can check if the delivery address is in a remote area at DHL Remote Area Services.

Reshipping: If your order is returned to us by the delivery company due to incorrect or insufficient delivery details, you will be charged the cost of reshipping the order. Please note that if the delivery address is incorrect and the order has been shipped, depending on the delivery option selected we may not be able to change the delivery address until the order has been returned.

 

Problems with your delivery

In the event that the courier company fails to deliver your order due to invalid address information, they will return the order back to Dymocks Online.

Dymocks Online will do their best to ensure the information you have input is accurate. We cannot guarantee that your order will arrive at its destination if you have not provided correct address details and as much information as possible to assist the couriers when delivering e.g. company name, level, suite etc.

If your order has not yet been shipped you will need to send Dymocks Online an email advising the error and requesting a change in details. If your order has a status of "packed" or "shipped" we will not be able to guarantee any change in shipping details.

Unfortunately, you will be liable for any costs incurred in return to sender parcels if the information you provided was inaccurate.