Find A Store
Cart
My Cart

{{ product.title }}

{{ product.author }}
{{ product.format }}
Qty:{{ product.quantity }}
${{ product.totalPrice | formatPrice }}
Your cart is empty.
Bookmarked Blog
There's something about the romance of autumn - the crunch of fallen leaves as you walk down the footpath, the simple joy of a hot drink and a warm blanket - that makes you want to read - and our well-read people have been doing just that! Read the reviews for the books they’ve been loving this month and find your next favourite read.

 

THE BELIEVER by Sarah Krasnostein

Sarah, Dymocks Sydney

Sarah, Dymocks Sydney

"The new book from the bestselling author of The Trauma Cleaner takes you on a deep dive into the remarkable power of belief. Examining the lives of six individuals and their belief systems, author Sarah Krasnostein tells their stories with the same style and consideration that earned The Trauma Cleaner its due praise. This is another enchanting read by a talented Australian author."

 

THE ROSE CODE by Kate Quinn

Emily, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

Emily, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

"The Rose Code weaves fact and fiction together to create an espionage thriller set between 1940 and 1947 in England. Three Bletchley Park codebreakers race against time to uncover the traitor amongst them. Fans of Kate Quinn’s previous work will not be disappointed!"

 

THE JIGSAW MAN by Nadine Matheson

Julie, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

Julie, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

"What a debut! I was hooked within the first ten pages and struggled to put it down. This book reads like someone who has been writing thrillers for years. Our main character is not only flawed on the home front but struggling from being a victim on a previous case; what happens when both of these worlds collide, and how will she cope and do her job whilst keeping her family together? I look forward to reading about more adventures from Henley and her team. This is not a book for the faint-hearted crime fan. Psychological thriller fans will find this one hard to put down."

 

ONE LAST DANCE by Emma Jane Holmes

Gina, Dymocks Neutral Bay

Gina, Dymocks Neutral Bay

"What started out as a sense of inquisitiveness, has culminated in the reading of a book that has provided me with beautiful insight into two industries most of us have had a sense of curiosity about. One Last Dance by Emma Jane Holmes will take you into the mortuary, cemetery and crematorium, and behind the scenes in night clubs, and answers all the questions you ever wanted to ask. What impressed me most was Emma’s sense of compassion and honesty towards both roles in the funeral industry and as an exotic dancer. Emma felt the need to keep each job secret from each other. This fascinating memoir is honest, witty and full of warmth. If you have enjoyed reading Rosie Waterland's The Anti-Cool Girl and Sarah Krasnostein's The Trauma Cleaner then you are sure to appreciate this book."

 

THE LAMPLIGHTERS by Emma Stonex

Jay, Dymocks Rouse Hill

Jay, Dymocks Rouse Hill

"This story, based on the true case of three missing lighthouse workers in 1900, is an interesting take on the classic “locked door” mystery, as the workers all disappeared but the lighthouse was inexplicably found locked from the inside. The story alternates between 1972, the time preceding the disappearance of the men, and 1992, when a writer looks to solve the mystery and spends time interviewing the three women who were their partners. The Lamplighters was a very atmospheric read, with the sense of isolation at the lighthouse being excellently portrayed, delivering a plausible theory as to what could have happened in 1972."

 

THE IRON RAVEN by Julie Kagawa

Mathew, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

Mathew, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

"Popular YA authors from the past are coming back to expand on their debut works that carved a place for them in the literary world, and I have to say I am loving it! Julie Kagawa takes us back to NeverNever in the new Evenfall series. Our beloved Puck gets the novel he deserves and the story we needed. You do not need to read the Iron Fey series before reading The Iron Raven (though I highly recommend you do). The lore of the fey has never been more popular and you would be crazy to miss this fun, furious and witty reading experience, with some of the best fey characters ever known in the YA paranormal/fantasy world."

WHILE PARIS SLEPT by Ruth Druart

Sara, Dymocks Penrith

Sara, Dymocks Penrith

"While Paris Slept is a captivating and heart-wrenching story of family and war that I wholeheartedly recommend and can’t wait to share with everyone. This debut compelled me to question what I would do in each character’s shoes as I shared their fear, pain, and the courage they gathered to make impossible decisions in unimaginable circumstances."

WHEN THE WATERHOLE DRIES UP by Kaye Baillie and Max Hamilton

Emily, Dymocks Marketing Coordinator

Emily, Dymocks Marketing Coordinator

"When the Waterhole Dries Up is such a fun and heart-warming picture book! I've always imagined all of our wonderful Australian wildlife to be making mischief together in the bush, rollicking and dancing and getting along, and the charming illustrations by Max Hamilton make me feel I could be friends with all of them."

THE SOUL OF A WOMAN by Isabel Allende

Meredith, Dymocks Canberra

Meredith, Dymocks Canberra

"This is a deeply personal exploration on what it meant for Isabel Allende being a feminist growing up in South America, and her life as an older woman in today’s USA. Her usual beautiful writing illuminates what she feels is a life of meaning, and the contribution that women have played, and can play in society. This is a light-filled touch on a topic which weighs heavily on the daily lives of many women the world over."

WIN by Harlan Coben

Karen, Dymocks Adelaide

Karen, Dymocks Adelaide

"Twists and turns, a complex plot, wonderful characters, trademark humour, and an unpredictable ending, Winis everything we’ve come to expect from a Harlan Coben novel. Many longtime fans will be delighted that Windsor Horne Lockwood III finally has his own series but rest assured, this reads perfectly as a standalone. Recommended!"

OTHER PEOPLE'S HOUSES by Kelli Hawkins

Josh, Dymocks Sydney

Josh, Dymocks Sydney

"Other People’s Houses is a compelling psychological thriller about obsession, deception and finding out what lies beneath the perfect facade that many people hide behind. Kate is such a captivating protagonist turned amateur sleuth and it was as if she were a character right out of Hitchcock’s Rear Window. What makes this story even more captivating is the fact that it is as much a mystery as it is a story about grief, loss and coping with your emotions. An emotional roller coaster ride perfect for fans of books such as The Woman in the Window."

DRIVING STEVIE FRACASSO by Barry Divola

Ted, Dymocks Nowra

Ted, Dymocks Nowra

"Oh what a rollicking trip this is - I loved it! We have all the passion and excitement of the New York rock band scene that Rick is immersed in as well as a glimpse into his journalist life. Then you're taken on the journey of discovery that unfolds as he is commissioned to write a book about his long lost brother. Driving Stevie Fracasso is a trip down memory lane of the glory days of records on vinyl that is well worth your time."

A HOME LIKE OURS by Fiona Lowe

Julie, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

Julie, Dymocks Waurn Ponds

"This book needs to come with a warning label - it may make you sleepy for work! Words cannot describe how quickly I tore through the pages and I struggled to put it down each night. Fiona Lowe has created a real community here. They need to grow and come together in order to protect their town. The bulk of the story is set around a community garden and questions what it means to be a community when the town is 'invaded' by homeless people and immigrants fleeing to make a new home for their children. When tempers flare and crime rates rise, who are the culprits? Is it who you expect them to be? This is a brilliant book about barriers being broken and people who would never normally meet learning to lean on one another when things get tough. It asks you to question your own motives and beliefs about situations. How would you react?"

Recent Articles


The Best Book to Screen Adaptations in 2...
If you’re a sucker for great book to movie adaptations, 2022 is going to be a standout year! S...
Meg Caddy Q&A | Slipping the Noose
What kid doesn’t love pirates? But there are very few female pirates in recorded history. To r...
6 Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing
So you’ve finished the Delia Owens book everyone has been raving about, and now you’re o...