Australia’s leading bookseller for 140 years. Buy securely. Saver & express delivery.

{{ product.title }}

To: {{ product.giftCardToEmail }}
${{ getOriginalPrice(product) | formatPrice }}   ${{ product.totalDiscountAmount | formatPrice }} saved
${{ product.RRP | formatPrice }}
${{ product.totalPrice | formatPrice }}
Qty:{{ product.quantity }}
Your cart is empty.
Menu
Find a store

{{ product.title }}

To: {{ product.giftCardToEmail }}
${{ getOriginalPrice(product) | formatPrice }}   ${{ product.totalDiscountAmount | formatPrice }} saved
${{ product.RRP | formatPrice }}
${{ product.totalPrice | formatPrice }}
Qty:{{ product.quantity }}
Your cart is empty.

Young adult books to look forward to in 2017

We've looked at adult fiction to look forward to in 2017, and then non-fiction to look forward to in 2017... Now it's time to look at the young adult books you'll be desperate to get your hands on this year! 

Much like our previous 2017 preview posts, this one comes with a word of warning: what follows below is a long list that’s broken down month by month as best we can, and linked to individual pages as best we can. Unfortunately some books don’t have full details yet.

A massive year of YA fiction has kicked off in January! So far we’ve seen Lisette’s Paris Notebook from Catherine Bateson, The One Memory of Flora Banks from Emily Barr, and Lady Helen and the Dark Days Pact, the second novel in Alison Goodman’s Lady Helen series. Life in a Fishbowl by Len Vlahos is out this month, and it’s a funny and heartbreaking look at the value of life and what memories mean to us. Tomorrow (!!!) Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth is released, which we are beyond excited for.

Take a deep breath and get ready for February… because February is a HUGE month! Early February brings us the highly anticipated Valentine by Jodi McAlister, a new YA series with a paranormal twist, and Freeks by Amanda Hocking. Nicole Hayes, author of one of our favourite #LoveOzYA titles One True Thing, is back in February with A Shadow’s Breath, a compelling story of heartbreak, courage, and forgiveness. The second instalment in Alwyn Hamilton’s trilogy, Traitor to the Throne, is out this month, and also look out for The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles, a high-stakes, fast-paced romance that definitely already has a sequel on the way.

February also bring us the sequel to Alexandra Bracken’s Passenger from 2016, called Wayfarer. Two important voices in YA, Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan, come together to break your heart in We Come Apart. February is the publication month for a book getting a lot of pre-publication buzz, Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson, about a girl convicted of murder who is seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home, and for King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, the third book in the Red Queen series.

March brings us The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (which was inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement), The Things we Promise by J.C. Burke, and a fresh and somewhat unexpected book from international best-selling author Garth Nix called Frogkisser!. Also look out for History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, a touching story about moving on from heartbreak.

Following on from her wonderful 2015 debut Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiengs Agenda, Becky Albertalli will be back with The Upside of Unrequired in April. Also in April comes Remind Me How This Ends from Gabrielle Tozer, Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray, and The Silent Invasion by James Bradley, the first in a trilogy set in 2027. Ursula Dubosarsky is back in April with The Blue Cat, a tale of one girl’s life in the 1940s that would also be suitable for a slightly younger readership, and so is Laini Taylor with Strange the Dreamer, a new heart-stopping novel that is the first in a thrilling duology. Look out for Night Swimming by Steph Bowe this month, a love story with a twist and a whole lot of heart, and also Geekerella by Ashley Poston, a geeky romance where Cinderella meets cosplay!

There aren’t enough YA anthologies in the world, and we’re incredibly excited about Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology that’s out in May and edited by the very well-read (and well-written!) Danielle Binks. It will feature short stories from ten best-selling Australian YA authors, including Amie Kaufman, Will Kostakis, Ellie Markey, and Lili Wilkinson. The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord will be hitting shelves in late May, along with Avenged by Amy Tintera, the sequel to 2016’s Ruined, and Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell. Also in May comes Dark Matter: Contagion from Teri Terry, which tells the story of a group of teenagers who escape being infected by an epidemic.

Blockbuster YA author Sarah J. Maas will be back in May with A Court of Wings and Ruin (Book 3 in the Court of Thorns and Roses series), along with an untitled novella. Julie Murphy, whose second novel Dumplin’ was super popular in 2015, is back in May with Ramona Blue, a beautiful and authentic slice of life representation.

May will also bring Finding Nevo by Nevo Zisin, a moving autobiography about our complex relationships with gender and identity, and a new novel from best-selling author Patrick Ness called Release, along with the third instalment of Jenny Han’s Lara Jean series called Always and Forever Lara Jean. Late May will see the return of Cassandra Clare with Lord of Shadows, the sequel to the best-selling Lady Midnight, and Hunted by Amanda Holohan, the action-packed sequel to Unwanted.

In June, Living on Hope Street by Demet Divaroren and My Life as a Hashtag are two excellent #LoveOzYA books to be on the lookout for. Also look out for Ballad for a Mad Girl by Vikki Wakefield, a ghost story from a brilliant Aussie author. We can’t wait to read One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus, a story about a geek, a jock, a criminal, a princess… and a murder. Sarah Dessen is back in June with Once and For All, a novel set in the world of wedding planning. June also brings Want by Cindy Pon, a YA sci-fi thriller set in Taiwan, and Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle, a story of two girls and the discovery of an ancient spellbook.

In July, look out for Regime by playwright Katy Warner. The publisher, Black Inc., has described it as a ‘dystopian tale about the power of freedom, with many chilling contemporary echoes’. We’re super excited about Fleur Ferris’s new book, Wreck, published this month. It’s about Tamara Bennett and how her life unravels when her home is ransacked. Another exciting book on our radar is Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel, which follows Juniper in the painful days after her big sister’s death.

July also brings us Now I Rise by Kiersten White, the sequel to 2016’s And I Darken, and Troublemakers by Catherine Barter, a searing and heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

Sarah Shepard (Amateurs Book 2) and E. Lockhart (best-selling author of We Were Liars) will be back on our shelves in August and September respectively, and also in August we get a new novel from Megan Jacobson called The Build-Up Season. It’s been described as a powerful exploration of family and identity, set against the build-up of the wet season in Darwin.

September is Friends Anonymous by #LoveOzYA powerhouse authors Fiona Wood, Cath Crowley, and Simmone Howell. It’s a story of three girls and their unlikely friendship against a backdrop of first love and betrayal. Keep an eye out for This Impossible Light by Lily Myers in September as well, a powerful and moving novel about a girl struggling with an eating disorder.

The end of 2017 will bring us the final instalments in the Zeroes trilogy (October) and the Illuminae trilogy (November), and it goes without saying that we can’t wait to see how both of these series end. Do not despair, fans of Amie Kaufman! The first book in her new series with Meagan Spooner, Unearthed, will be released in December, to help deal with the conclusion of The Illuminae Files. It’s described as ‘Indiana Jones meets Lara Croft… in space’ and we can’t wait to get our hands onto it!

And, YA readers, we are done! We’re sure there will be plenty of other books coming out this year that are just as brilliant as the ones we’ve listed here, so let us know if there’s anything you’re looking forward to that we’ve accidentally missed. 

 
 

Posted by Global Administrator on 17/01/2017