The ultimate guide to the world of Sarah J. Maas

The ultimate guide to the world of Sarah J. Maas
Sarah J. Maas fans are in for a maas-ive (see what we did there?) year and it all kicks off tomorrow with the release of A Court of Wings and Ruin, the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. 

It’s no secret that Sarah J. Maas is a publishing phenomenon, and the New York Times best-selling author has sold just shy of 150,000 copies of her books in Australia alone.

Last year we put together this blog post after Bloomsbury announced eight new titles from the best-selling Maas: six in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series and two new additions to the Throne of Glass series. Now that some of those books have been published, we figured it was time to update this post.

We know many of you out there love her books, so read on to find out what’s coming your way!

A Court of Thorns and Roses has now been translated into a massive seventeen different languages since its publication in May 2015 – a huge achievement for a book that only recently celebrated its second birthday.

The second book in the series, A Court of Mist and Fury, hit our shelves in 2016, and the third in the trilogy, A Court of Wings and Ruin, was released across the world on 2 May 2017.

According to Bloomsbury’s big announcement last year, there will be an additional three novels, two novellas, and a colouring book added to the series over the next few years.

The A Court of Thorns and Roses Colouring Book  was also released on 2 May 2017 and it ‘brings to life the characters, magic, settings, creatures, and key moments in the series with stunning illustrations’.

The five other announced books (three novels and two novellas) will be published from 2018 and will tell the stories of several characters, both before and after the events that take place in the first three novels. The first novella has been confirmed as having a May 2018 release date, but it does not have a title just yet.

Of the novella, Sarah said: 'It’s a novella set after the events of ACOWAR, that bridges the gap between the original trilogy and the upcoming spinoff books, and lays a bunch of the groundwork for the set-up of the new novels. All of the old gang is back....and it’s narrated by Feyre and Rhys!'

Moving on to the Throne of Glass series… Two new books published in 2018 will join the already-announced sixth book in the series called Tower of Dawn, which is published on 5 September 2017. 

Now, you may remember back in 2016 that we mentioned a new novella featuring fan-favourite Chaol Westfall, captain of the guard in the Throne of Glass series, would be coming. That's what Tower of Dawn was meant to be; however, Sarah loved writing it so much that the novella became the sixth book in the Throne of Glass series.

The first book coming in May 2018, for fans who want to get even deeper into this world, is The World of Throne of Glass. It’s the ultimate guide to the series and Bloomsbury has said it will include an illustrated compendium of characters, settings, magic, gods, politics, creatures, and vocabulary, along with a comprehensive timeline of events. This book is currently slated to have a publication date of 1 May 2018.

The second book coming in 2018 will be published in September and is an as-yet untitled seventh, and most likely final, book in the series. 

Sarah J. Maas herself has said that she is tremendously thrilled to continue expanding the words of both the Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, and to be perfectly honest we’re pretty thrilled about it as well! 

Source: Society6

We've put together a handy list of all the books, both published and announced, in both series so you can see what you need to add to your TBR piles. 

A Court of Thorns and Roses
1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
2. A Court of Mist and Fury
3. A Court of Wings and Ruin -- published on 2 May 2017
Box set of Books 1-3 -- due for publication on 1 October 2017

A Court of Thorns and Roses Colouring Book -- published on 2 May 2017
3 x new series novels -- due for publication from 2018
2 x new series novellas -- due for publication from 2018 (one confirmed for May 2018)

Throne of Glass
The Assassin’s Blade (prequel novella collection)
1. Throne of Glass
2. Crown of Midnight
3. Heir of Fire
4. Queen of Shadows
5. Empire of Storms 
6. Tower of Dawn -- due for on 5 September 2017
7. Untitled Book 7 -- due for publication in September 2018

The Throne of Glass Colouring Book 
The World of Throne of Glass -- due for publication on 1 May 2018


Posted by Dymocks Digital Team on 13/07/2016
Filed under: 2016, author, sarahjmaas, series, ya, yalit

Heather - 15.11.2017 01:21 pm
I'm an addict! I can't work, can't sleep, can't eat!! Crikey, I even forget to drink my wine!!! Every spare moment of my day is spent reading her books. Write more, please and be quick!!!
Vanessa - 06.12.2016 09:06 pm
It's a first time I heard about Sarah J. Maas... Looks like you're just gave me a key to the new world... I hope the book will me so quality as their covers
Thanks a lot for the recovering of the year.
- Vanessa (<a href=""> Big Assignment</a> )
Passionate reader
Jessica - 14.07.2016 01:59 pm
I don't even know what to say :') Omg I'm so excited!!!!!!!!!
Word warrior
Krystal - 13.07.2016 02:38 pm
OMG You've made my day! Just finished A Court of Mist and Fury a few days ago and I'm seriously craving some more Maas; didn't realise the new Throne of Glass novel was due so soon! Hurry back into my life Celeana and Rohan <3
I'll definitely be pre-ordering! Thanks Dymocks! :)
'I like them to talk nonsense. That is man's one true privilege over all creation.'
Trackback URL:

Welcome to Dymocks, Australia's leading bookseller for 135 years.